Division of Student Affairs

Mission Statement

The Division of Student Affairs is committed to providing student services and programs that complement the overall mission of Columbia College. To that end, we strive to foster individual learning and growth by encouraging the development of character, ethics, values, and multicultural competence by promoting student engagement, both within and beyond the campus community. By supporting student development in this way, our purpose is to enhance the intellectual, social, cultural,  psychological, and physical well-being of all students within a supportive and challenging environment that emphasizes practical application of women’s leadership.

Offices

  • Office of the Chaplain
  • Office of the Columbia College Police Department
  • Office of Counseling Services
  • Office of the Dean of Students
  • Office of Multicultural Affairs & Community Resources
  • Office of Residence Life & Housing
  • Office of Student Activities

Student Affairs Structure

The Division of Student Affairs is the collective name for a number of offices that work closely with students in the out-of-class learning environment. The Division of Student Affairs consists of the offices of the Chaplain, Columbia College Police Department, Counseling Services, Dean of Students, Multicultural Affairs and Community Re­sources Residence Life and Housing, and Student Activities. Services provided by these offices are generally offered at little or no charge to students. Student Affairs staff members provide students with a variety of opportunities, ac­tivities, programs, and events that support learning in and out of the class­room, assist the student in becoming engaged in the campus community, enhance a student’s leadership knowledge and skills, and promote success during and after college.

Student Affairs Staff

Office of the Chaplain

Rev. Mary Johnson, Chaplain (mjohnson@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-754-5342)

Office of the Columbia College Police Department

Chief Wayne Jamison, Chief of Police (wjamison@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3343)

Office of Counseling Services

Mimi Meriwether, Director of Counseling Services (mmeriwether@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3603)

Office of the Dean of Students

Dr. LaNaé Budden, Dean of Students (lrbriggs@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3035)

Kelly Long, Administrative Coordinator for Student Affairs (klong@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3856)

Mikayla Woodward, Graduate Assistant for Student Affairs (mwoodward@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3039)

Office of Multicultural Affairs & Community Resources

Melissia Brannen, Director of Multicultural Affairs & Community Resources & Assistant Dean of Students (mbrannen@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3888) 

Allison Maldonado-Ruiz, Graduate Assistant for Multicultural Affairs & Community Resources (amruiz@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3160)

Office of Residence Life & Housing

Kimberly Chamberlain, Director of Residence Life & Housing (kchamberlain@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3476)

Sue Gerdes, Administrative Assistant for Residence Life & Student Activities (skgerdes@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3019)

Shadé Holmes, Area Coordinator for McNair First-Year Living Center (sholmes@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-714-4145)

LaToya McDonald, Area Coordinator for Upper Class Housing (lmcdonald@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-714-4824)

Office of Student Activities

Sierra Oliphant, Director of Student Activities (soliphant@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3296)

Shantrice Bradley, Graduate Assistant for Student Activities Programs & Campus Engagement (sbradley@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3840)

Sue Gerdes, Administrative Assistant for Residence Life & Student Activities (skgerdes@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3019)

Tess Lester, Graduate Assistant for Orientation and Student Organization Leadership Development (tlester@nullcolumbiasc.edu; 803-786-3576)

Handouts and Flyers