Appalachian Athletic Conference

The Appalachian Athletic Conference evolved from the Volunteer State Athletic Conference (VSAC), an NAIA conference organized in the 1940s and dissolved in the early 1980s when institutions in the eastern part of the state seceded to form the Tennessee Virginia Athletic Conference (TVAC).

The Conference name changed to the Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) in 2001 with the addition of Bluefield College, Montreat College, Alice Lloyd College, and Union College. In 2014, the Conference will have thirteen members in six Southeastern States: Bluefield (VA), Bryan (TN), Columbia (SC), Milligan (TN), Montreat (NC), Point (GA), Reinhardt (GA), SCAD Atlanta (GA), St. Andrews (NC), Tennessee Wesleyan, Truett-McConnell (GA), Union (KY), and Virginia Intermont.

The AAC sponsors championships in fifteen sports: cross country, soccer, basketball, outdoor track & field, golf, baseball, and tennis for men; cross country, soccer, volleyball, basketball, outdoor track & field, golf, softball, and tennis for women.

To learn more about the AAC and its member colleges, please visit